About Torch Run


The Law Enforcement Torch Run® for Special Olympics Virginia includes the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police, the Virginia Sheriff’s Association, the Virginia Department of Corrections, the Virginia Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators and the Virginia Association of Regional Jails.


These officers and staff fall under the leadership of the Torch Run State Chair, who is responsible for the day-to-day leadership of the Torch Run. The chair is assisted by the Torch Run Executive Council, which provides long-term direction for the Torch Run movement in Virginia.


See below for the 2018 Virginia Law Enforcement Torch Run Executive Council and State Chair contacts.


State Chair & Executive Council

2018 State Chair
Sheriff Steve F. Dempsey

King George County Sheriff's Office
540.775.8594
sdempsey@co.kinggeorge.state.va.us

Liaison to State Chair
Deputy Rod Shriver

King George County Sheriff's Office
540.775.2049
rshriver@co.kinggeorge.state.va.us
Director
Ben Fravel
Prince William County Police Department (retired)
703.843.3859
bwfravel@gmail.com
Deputy Director
Cpl. Joe Carroll
Metropolitan Washington Airport Authority

703.608.9849
joseph.carroll@MWAA.com
Secretary
Dana Kinsley
Department of Corrections
434.535.7000 x6269
dana.kinsley@vadoc.virginia.gov

Athlete Representative
Matthew Doyle

Athlete Representative
Rose Pleskow
 
Sgt. Michelle Anaya
Virginia State Police
757.746.2557
michelle.anaya@vsp.virginia.gov
Lt. Col. Clayton Bennett
Chesapeake Sheriff's Office
757.382.2887
cbennett@cityofchesapeake.net
Lt. Chris Pascal
Chesapeake Sheriff's Office
757.382.2814
cpascal@cityofchesapeake.net
Sgt. Brian Grenadier
Retired - Alexandria Sheriff's Office
571.238.0443
bgsheriff@aol.com
Investigator Terry Thomas
Northampton Co. Sheriff's Office
757.693.0753
tthomas@co.northampton.va.us
Ken Moulder (Ret.)
Riverside Regional Jail
804.504.6600
hymi0210@aol.com
Sgt. Nicole Kephart
Prince William Co. Sheriff's Office
703.906.9126
nkephart@pwcgov.org
Deputy Scott Young
Roanoke County Sheriff's Office
540.387.6019
syoung@roanokecountyva.gov
Sgt. Steve Knick
Charlottesville Police Department 
434.970.3037
knicksp@charlottesville.org
Sgt. Steve Vick
Virginia State Police   
804.840.0525
steve.vick@vsp.virginia.gov
Captain James Shantz
Department of Corrections
434.390.1893
jim.shantz@vadoc.virginia.gov
Lt. Kathy Vargas
Virginia Beach Sheriff's Office
757.385.4379
kvargas@vbso.net
Investigator Maureen McClanahan
Christiansburg Police Department
540.382.3131 ext 339
mmcclanahan@christiansburg.org
Special Agent Stephanie Gallemore
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
540.230.0206
stephanie.gallemore@dmv.virginia.gov
   Lynsi Kendrick
  Prince William County Sheriff's Office
  703.792.5817
  lnkendrick@pwcgov.org
Join us on Facebook

Join us on Twitter

Sponsors